I'm so close to a production internship with Emmis I can taste it.  Several days after sending in my resume I was contacted by the Production Director of 105.7 The Point, who is also the head of the Emmis-St. Louis Production Internship Program.  He said my resume looked great and that they would contact me about a production internship that would be opening in the mid-summer.  After almost two weeks I hadn't heard anything so I decided to send him an e-mail saying that I am still available for this internship.  He sent me an e-mail thanking me for my patience.  Now I'm waiting again, but it looks like I'll get a phone call early next week to set up an interview at the Powerhouse (the part of Union Station where the Emmis offices and studios are located) and explain what exactly this internship entails.

This is an unpaid internship, as it seems nearly all radio internships are, but I want this one really bad.  If I get it, I'll have to do at least 19 hours a week.  I'd like to have a shot at turning this into a job when the internship is over, so I plan on exceeding the minimum and doing as many hours as they can stand me.  If I can get lucky and get a job with them after this is done, I'll have a job before I graduate in December since this internship will likely end in early or late October.

In preparation for the drive to and from St. Louis several days a week, I had some minor problems with my car fixed.  Several hundred dollars later, the brakes still squeal, but apparently it's at a frequency only Kenny and I can hear.  My mom can't hear it, my grandpa can't hear it, my grandpa's mailman can't hear it, and the owner of Tom's Auto Repair (Tom Colbert) can't hear it.  We went on a 10 minute drive around St. Thomas Road and Old Alton Road and he couldn't hear it once, no matter how many times I pointed it out when it happened.

"I believe you, I just hope you believe me.  You by chance don't happen to hear dog whistles, do you?"

No, Tom.  I think you're just getting old, like everyone else.  They say as age increases, the higher frequency threshold decreases, and it seems to be true.  At least I was guaranteed that it wasn't a harmful squeal, and if it gets into the range of "normal human hearing" to go ahead and drive it back to Tom's.

I can deal with it.  I just want to squeal my way to the Powerhouse.

