I mailed eight sports cards to Beckett Grading Services to be graded today. Nowadays, you can’t sell cards for what they are really worth unless they are graded by a company like BSG or PSA. This is going to cost me $72 to have all eight cards graded, but it will be well worth it if I decide to sell them.

There are five baseball cards and three basketball cards. The basketball cards are all Shaquille O’Neal rookies from the 1992-93 season. Fleer Ultra, Stadium Club, and Upper Deck are the brands.

The baseball cards are all different players. A 1958 Topps Mickey Mantle All-Star, 1958 Topps Willie Mays, 1966 Topps Brooks Robinson, 1983 Topps Tony Gwynn Rookie Card, and a 1990 Leaf Frank Thomas Rookie Card.

I had the whole thing insured for $300 (in case it gets lost in the mail), but I’m hoping the lot is worth well more than that, to the tune of $750 or more. On the grading scale of 1 through 10, I don’t expect any 10’s, but I’m hoping the Shaq rookies can at least get as high as 9. Apparently, less than 1 card in 1000 receives a perfect 10. The Mantle and Mays cards probably won’t get as high as 7, considering the edges of the cards, but I don’t know the intricacies of grading cards.

The turnaround on these things is 45 days, so hopefully I’ll have them back by late August. If the Shaq rookies come back as 9 or higher, I’ll keep them. Everything else will probably be sold because I don’t expect high grades for any of them, except maybe the Tony Gwynn rookie card.

