I received my eight graded cards in the mail that I sent off about two months ago.   Click the picture below to see a larger image.  The cards graded as below (on a scale of 1 through 10):

  • 1958 Topps Willie Mays – 3.0
  • 1958 Topps Mickey Mantle AS – 3.5
  • 1966 Topps Brooks Robinson – 6.0
  • 1983 Topps Tony Gwynn RC – 7.5
  • 1990 Leaf Frank Thomas RC – 9.0
  • 1992-93 Stadium Club Shaquille O’Neal RC – 8.5
  • 1992-1993 Ultra Shaquille O’Neal RC – 9.0
  • 1992-93 Upper Deck Shaquille O’Neal SP RC – 9.0

I’m happy with the Shaq’s.  I will save those.  The rest I’m probably going to sell on eBay.  The Shaq’s can only increase in value with such high grades.  The other won’t do much.  I can still probably get $40 to $50 each for the Mantle and Mays, and less for the others.

Just be careful.  If you have a lot of old cards and want to get them graded, don’t expect much unless they are top condition.  I didn’t expect much, but even a 3 and a 3.5 is lower than I thought I would get.  Oh well.  At least the Shaq’s graded high.  I now see having them graded as an investment.

