Even though it is only part-time, I can now say I have a paying radio job.  I was officially hired at KMOX this afternoon, and my first day is Tuesday.

It’s a board operator job with some added responsibility, like screening calls and other associate producer-type duties.  The hours should be pretty good for part-time, and I’ll have my schedule 3 – 4 weeks in advance.  The only downer will be the occasional overnight shift on Saturdays (into early Sunday morning), but I know I can handle that.  And it’s not like I didn’t expect it.  I am on the bottom, after all.  But, on the bright side, I do hear some of the most interesting callers are on late at night.

Now I need to figure out where to park.  When I was there for my interview, I parked in a lot that cost me $9.  Hopefully I can find something at least a little cheaper, or else I’ll be taking the Metrolink and walking a few blocks to KMOX.

